Kochi

I got to admit, I didn’t think I would like Kochin very much. All I really knew about it was that it was touristy, there was a ‘fort,’ and the beach was filthy.

We got into Ernakulam around 3pm. Asked around and found out that the ferry to Kochin is only 2.50 rupees per person.

Alas, the engine stopped puttering a few minutes after we left shore, leaving us floating in the middle of the water.

The engine mechanic went to work, disassembling some parts and jiggling others. Wasn’t long before the coast guard came along and towed our boat to shore.

coch1

coch3

coch2

When I first stepped off the pier I noticed a cool piece of street art, with the words ‘GUESS WHO?’

As we walked further into the city, I spotted an advertisement for the Kochi Biennale, and was thrilled to find that we hadn’t missed it. (Pics in the next blog entry.) Spent the next 24 hours pretty much getting lost and taking photos of everything. We visited the Dutch Palace and the 400 year old Jewish synagogue (no cameras allowed) and walked along the coastline.

coch6

Ginger drying out in the sun at the spice market.
coch7

The sludge from the city feeding out into the harbor. I took a monochromatic picture to emphasize how green the water is. Ugh.
coch8

Went shopping for a new hat. Didn’t buy this one, even though Xik thought I should.
“Travel friendly,” he said. “Effin ugly,” I said.
coch10

Fishing contraptions that Kochin is known for
coch9

Pimp my rickshaw!
coch5

Kochin Beach. Definitely not for swimming, despite what you see here.
coch4

