Amritsar

Amritsar, home to the holiest shrine of the Sikh religion: Harmandir Sahib, or the Golden Temple.

With 750 kg of gold, the temple deserves its glittery title… Now, I could bore you with facts, but truth be told, all I can really say about this popular tourist destination is that it is a must-see, and not in the least bit overrated.

Like the Sikh religion, the temple is all-inclusive, which means it open to all and is intended for all kinds of people, of any religion, to come and worship god equally. I saw plenty of Hindis and Sikhs, as well as foreigners. I really enjoyed the visit and am berating myself for not braving the wind and rain to see it at night (Google pics show it to be a spectacular sight).

We didn’t do much else with our time in Amritsar besides eat and eat some more. A popular Amritsar specialty is the kulcha… Its a bread, sorta like roti, or naan, but not at all like either. TRY IT! And the softys (ice cream) were only 5 rupees each… I’m too ashamed to say how many I had.

Xiker did go to Wagah for the border ceremony near Pakistan while I huddled inside, away from the rain and cold. He came back and reenacted it for me (several times) as it was a fairly simple performance.

Xik and his souvenir
am2

Me and my pretty purple scarf
am11

am1

am5

DSC_0150

am8

am12

am7

am6

Free community lunch (though we donated)
DSC_0173

Gorgeous girls.
am3

am13

No photography allowed beyond this point, unfortunately.
am14

Sun’s going down…
am16

am15

Ah, nobody gave me the memo.
am9

The border ceremony.
amibord4

amibord3

amibord2

amibord1

