Street art of Nepal

I love to explore cities that are rife with graffiti.

Unfortunately, the word graffiti has negative connotations so people are quick to call it vandalism. I won’t deny that there are many many beautiful works of architecture that have been defaced by senseless idiots.

But street art is something different. Graffiti isn’t all bad.

Sometimes it’s a statement of sorts, a public response to the political and social conditions of the city.

Banksy and Morley are two of my favorite street artists, I absolutely love the seemingly simple yet poignant messages of their work. (Click on their names, they are links to websites–if you’ve never heard of them– you won’t be disappointed!)

Before I crossed the border into Nepal, I thought of naught but lofty Himalayan peaks. I knew nothing about Nepal and her people, and even less about her social conditions.

The public opinion was painted loud and clear on the walls. I found them in almost every city we visited.

One message rang louder than the rest: the younger generation is looking to the future.

*can you please build something stable for me? cause I’m your future.
5

*I AM DIFFERENT: the giant storybook project, kolor kathmandu
1

interesting school project
DSC_0315

DSC_0316

DSC_0317

DSC_0318

this was on the wall next to the project.. coincidence or response?
DSC_0319

political statements
4

DSC_0786

vote for karma. found this political ad on a rock wall somewhere along the Annapurna Circuit
AWACa 029

a response to social conditions
DSC_0028

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0031

DSC_0785

DSC_0896

these anarchy angels were seen in a lot of places but I liked this depiction the best
DSC_0593

so anyway, while all the youngsters are fighting for a future against a corrupted government, the older generation watches.
DSC_0130

while caressing their khukuri knives
DSC_0428

Just past Manang we found this… senseless graffiti?
ACTb 071

in addition to all the enviromental, political and social statements, there are also confessions of love and works of art
DSC_0846

found this heart somewhere on the Langtang Trail
DSCN3020

om, y’all
DSC_0323

DSC_0531

DSC_0779

DSC_0595

DSC_0021

DSC_0609

*PROJECT KOLOR KATHMANDU: I wish I knew about this project before the 2nd to last day we were going to leave Nepal!!!! Totes would’ve gone hunting for the murals. Check out the website.