the future, full of things that have never been

Another year, another circle around the sun, another 365 fully-lived days to add to the book that is my life; 28 chapters and then nothing but blank pages waiting for the days to come.

Every now and then, I pause and step back, to look at the big picture and remember the small but significant moments. I try to assess where I am, to gauge whether I have moved forward–anywhere, really–or am just standing still in the river of time. When I look back, do I have any regrets? What are they?

The past year was an incredible one, chock full of one-of-a-kind experiences and I can honestly check off a thousand bucket list items off the bucket list I never had.

After our trip ended in June of 2013, I did hit a patch of aimlessness as I tried to figure out what to do. I knew I wasn’t ready to start a career yet (I’m still not) so I just wanted to find something a little more temporary.

California was the last place I’d expected to end up, but by the beginning of August I found myself in a small and dusty town, working with a bunch of people I’d never met before. That gamble turned out to be a winning one, and I know already it will be remembered as one of the best times of my life.

It wasn’t just a new place but a new lifestyle, quite the opposite of what I’d expected from a place like California. Phone service was patchy at best, wifi came and went with the wind, and almost nobody bothered with TV — everyone chose to attune to each other instead. Xiker flew out to join me there in September, and together we picked up new skills, made new lifelong friends, and explored the gorgeous Californian scenery whenever we could.

“And now, we welcome the new year, full of things that have never been.”
–Rainer Maria Rilke

In addition to putting actual time and work into my writing and other creative outlets,  I’d like to keep practicing the art of living in the now. I often spend too much time worrying about the future when the present is right here for me to appreciate.

We’re taking about two months to prep for our trip, and expect to be seeing each other again sometime soon, in the spring. Further details will be divulged once we’ve confirmed the locations and dates, but I’m excited! Until then, I’ll be finding things to do to stay occupied here in Austin.

and I’ll be updating, so check back soon, y’all–

